Suffolk members celebrate at glittering awards ceremony

THE Northern Ireland Branch of the Suffolk Sheep Society celebrated another successful season with a glittering prize-giving ceremony and annual dinner in the Tullylagan Country House Hotel on Friday night.

Among a star-studded guest list was Suffolk Sheep Society President, Charles Harding and wife Jan, the Ulster Bank's Cormac McKervey and the Society's chief executive, Dr Lewis McClinton.

Mr Harding encouraged members to continue their strenuous efforts to take the breed forward and congratulated the numerous achievements of the Northern Ireland Branch over many years.

The guest speaker said that NI members had produced many wonderful sheep and that his multiple visits to the Province were hugely enlightening and had been met with unprecedented hospitality.

Chairman William Tait performed the proposals while vice-chairman Anthony Patton thanked the many sponsors, whose generous contributions were crucial to the running of the Society. Mr McKervey responded and said the Society's important role in breeding quality livestock was widely recognised within the sheep industry.

While the evening was primarily to celebrate and recognise the achievements and accolades of its members, the Society also remembered two of its leading lights Đ Hugh Rankin and Nigel Bell - that had sadly passed away during the previous 12 months.

On the night the families of Mr Rankin and Mr Bell presented new trophies that were presented to Mark Priestley and Gary Beacom respectively. The next event on the Suffolk Sheep Society (NI Branch) calendar is a female show and sale in the Moira Livestock Arena on November 20.

AWARDS Major WEH Workman Cup: G Gilmour RW Hanna Memorial Cup: G Gilmour. Kinbally Cup: S & W Tait. Robert H Stewart Memorial Cup: AR Gault. Novice Cup: K & G McAdoo. Suffolk Sheep Society Cup: S & W Tait. Allam Cup: G Beacom. Blossomhill Perpetual Cup: K & G McAdoo. Arthur N Bocock Challenge Cup: A Gault. Norman Orage Cup: A Gault. Desks International Perpetual Bowl: JH Stewart. North Antrim Suffolk Breeders Perpetual Cup: S & W Tait. Thomas Robinson Perpetual Trophy: S & W Tait. Smith/Kline Trophy: S & W Tait. Suffolk Sheep Society NI Branch Trophy: M Priestley. Chestnutt Animal Feeds Cup: S & W Tait. Hugh Rankin Memorial Cup (sponsored by McCaughan Animal Health) for Show Team of the Year: M Priestley. Mawhinney Cup: S & W Tait. Farming Life Trophy: K & G McAdoo. Robert Duncan Memorial Salver: G Beacom. David Duncan Perpetual Shield:Gareth McClenaghan

Wm Montgomery Perpetual Shield: Karen Liggett.

UKF Perpetual Challenge Trophy (Champion flock): P Donnelly. Suffolk Sheep Society (NI Branch) Shield (Reserve): Wm Montgomery. Sonia Doak Memorial Perpetual Trophy (Flock under 30 ewes): K Telford. Suffolk Sheep Society (NI Branch) Shield (Flock 31 ewes and over): P Donnelly.

Desks International Perpetual Trophy (Pen of ewe lambs): P Donnelly. Nelson Craig Memorial Perpetual Challenge Cup (Stock ram): Wm Montgomery.

Nigel Bell Memorial Cup: G Beacom.



Flock competition winners, William Montgomery. Keith Telford and overall winners, Packie and Rhonda Donnelly with Suffolk Sheep Society President, Charles Harding.



Keith McAdoo and his family proudly display his haul of trophies at the annual awards night in Tullylagan Country House.



Jan Harding, wife of Suffolk Sheep Society President Charles, presents Beacom brothers, Gary and Lee, Keith McAdoo and William Tait with their awards from the Premier show and sale at the annual prizegiving.